## MICHAEL BRIN PRIZE IN DYNAMICAL SYSTEMS

Michael Brin, currently Professor Emeritus of the University of Maryland, has endowed an international prize for outstanding work in the theory of dynamical systems and related areas. The prize is awarded for specific mathematical achievements that appear as a single or a series of publications in refereed journals, proceedings or monographs.

The goal of the prize is to recognize mathematicians who have made substantial impact in the field. The recipients should be no more than fourteen years from Ph.D.

The 2015 prize includes a monetary award of \$15,000.

The prize is awarded biennially by an international committee of experts. The 2013 Prize committee includes the following members:

- Jean Bourgain, Institute for Advanced Studies, Princeton bourgain@ias.edu
- Giovanni Forni, University of Maryland gforni@math.umd.edu
- Anatole Katok, Committee Chair, Penn State University katok\_a@math.psu.edu
- Elon Lindenstrauss, Hebrew University of Jerusalem elon@math.huji.ac.il
- Yakov Pesin, Penn State University pesin@math.psu.edu
- Klaus Schmidt, University of Vienna klaus.schmidt@univie.ac.at
- Marcelo Viana, IMPA, Rio de Janeiro viana@impa.br

Nominations for the prize are made by committee members. The committee may seek informal input from the mathematical community concerning potential candidates for the prize.

The first prize was awarded in March 2008 at the Spring 2008 Maryland meeting of the semi-annual Workshop in Dynamical Systems and related topics dedicated to Professor Brin sixtieth birthday.

Subsequent prizes are awarded in the fall of each odd year starting from 2009. The venue for presentation of those awards has been fixed as the Fall Penn State meeting of the semi-annual Workshop in Dynamical Systems and related topics but it may change in the future.

Award ceremony includes several lectures about the winner's work by leading experts in the area. Articles based on these lectures are later published in Journal of Modern Dynamics.