MICHAEL BRIN PRIZE IN DYNAMICAL SYSTEMS

Michael Brin, currently Professor Emeritus of the University of Maryland, has endowed an international prize for outstanding work in the theory of dynamical systems and related areas. The prize is awarded for specific mathematical achievements that appear as a single or a series of publications in refereed journals, proceedings or monographs.

The goal of the prize is to recognize mathematicians who have made substantial impact in the field. The recipients should be no more than fourteen years from Ph.D.

The 2015 prize includes a monetary award of \$15,000.

The prize is awarded biennially by an international committee of experts. The 2015 Prize committee includes the following members:

- Giovanni Forni, University of Maryland gforni@math.umd.edu
- Helmut Hofer, Institute for Advanced Studies, Princeton hofer@ias.edu
- Anatole Katok, Committee Chair, Penn State University katok_a@math.psu.edu
- Elon Lindenstrauss, Hebrew University of Jerusalem elon@math.huji.ac.il
- Hee Oh, Yale University hee.oh@yale.edu
- Yakov Pesin, Penn State University pesin@math.psu.edu
- Klaus Schmidt, University of Vienna klaus.schmidt@univie.ac.at

Nominations for the prize are made by committee members. The committee may seek informal input from the mathematical community concerning potential candidates for the prize.

The first prize was awarded in March 2008 at the Spring 2008 Maryland meeting of the semi-annual Workshop in Dynamical Systems and related topics dedicated to Professor Brin sixtieth birthday.

Subsequent prizes have been awarded in the fall of each odd year starting from 2009. The venue for presentation of those awards has been fixed as the Fall Penn State meeting of the semi-annual Workshop in Dynamical Systems and related topics. In 2016 Professor Brin increased the endowment and starting from 2017 the prize becomes annual. The venue for the award ceremony in the odd years remains the same. In even years beginning from 2018 the prize will be presented at the Spring Maryland meeting of the semi-annual Workshop in Dynamical Systems and related topics. Award ceremony includes one or more lectures about the winner's work by leading experts in the area. Articles based on these lectures are later published in Journal of Modern Dynamics.

 $\mathbf{2}$